$38.00 (AUD)

Out of Stock

"Swanlights" is the fourth Antony and the Johnsons album and the follow up to the critically acclaimed smash "The Crying Light" which topped year-end best of lists across the globe in 2009. Antony burst into the international spotlight with his second album, "I am a Bird Now", which won the UK's prestigious Mercury Music Prize. Antony & the Johnsons have toured Australia on three occasions, the last being earlier this year for two sold out opera houseshows and two sold out perth festival shows. While "I Am a Bird Now" was arresting in its simplicity and vision and "The Crying Light" is a masterpiece of austerity, "Swanlights" may be Antony's most wide-ranging emotional work to date. It is a record that is at moments excruciating and tender, and at other times has a wicked gleam to its teeth. Musically it's the most maximal of his work to date. Whereas on "The Crying Light", Antony paired everything back to its most distilled and essential, on "Swanlights" the vines have become overgrown and the sound palette has become more exotic, strange percussive elements, John Cale-esque string drones, heavily distorted guitars and symphonic voicings thread the song cycle together.

Track Listing

Disc 1:

  1. Everything Is New
  2. The Great White Ocean
  3. Ghost
  4. I'm In Love
  5. Violetta
  6. Swanlights
  7. The Spirit Was Gone
  8. Thank You For Your Love
  9. Fletta
  10. Salt Silver Oxygen
  11. Christina's Farm